Its been quite a long time since this mod started back in 2011. Not knowing Java, I was pretty lost in how Java even functioned. Over the past two years I have learned a lot. Everything I’ve learned about Java came from Minecraft. Some argue that its a horrible way to learn Java, which it is, but I had a goal.

I’m the type of learner that needs to feel it, touch it and break it to fully understand how everything works. I can read until my eyes fall into my keyboard, but I won’t adsorb almost any of the knowledge without having a means to actually apply it.

Minecraft gave me that means. The whole reason I started Gender is because after playing I was annoyed at sounding like a male caveman. I had Classic for a year, then got premium and uploaded my own skin. Then when Survival mode came out, every time I was hurt, I heard Steve. I honestly don’t know why it bothered me so much, but it did.

This was all clear back in April of 2011. Which, back then there were almost no guides on how to mod Minecraft. I had no idea what I was doing or how I was going to do it. After posting on MinecraftForum about my annoyment, they mentioned that I could make a mod. So I began trudging into how to mod Minecraft to make my player female.

If you’ve been around since nearly the beginning, or for at least a year, you should know how much this mod has changed. This mod has been a WIP since its beginning. My horribly coded system from long ago is a tribute to how much I’ve learned. Over the years you’ve seen me derp. I am happy with what I have achieved, and so very glad for each and every one of you. What I was once doing for myself, I now do for you.

-iPixeli

